Favorite Books for Young Children

One of my favorite discoveries since starting on the homeschool path is the word “twaddle”. It was coined by Charlotte Mason, renowned 18th century educator, who used the word to describe books that are the literary equivalent to sugary candy. They might be enjoyable in the moment but ultimately leave the reader wanting. They’re uninspired and a dime a dozen. I can only imagine what she’d think of the modern child’s literary landscape! A worthy book has a storyline and characters that move your soul. For young children’s books, wonderful illustrations are a key element for sparking their imagination.

I depend heavily on the recommendations of trusted booklist curators to select children’s books. We’re fortunate to have a large book exchange in our small town which allows me to recycle twaddle in exchange for more worthwhile books. I spend very little on books by using Thrift Book, Goodwill, and our local book exchange. You’ll be amazed at the treasures you can find secondhand.

Below are some of the most loved books in our household.

Miss Rumphius by Barbara Cooney

This is a longstanding favorite of mine that was written the year I was born (1985). It is a sweet story of a woman, Miss Rumphius, who spreads beauty in the world by planting flowers. Upon traveling the world and fulfilling her dreams she invests her time spreading beauty in her seaside community by planting lupine seeds. The message is simple and lovely.

Avocado Baby

This adorable book was second hand and given to me by my mother. It’s a silly story of a baby who acquires superhuman strength from eating avocados. The illustrations are terrific. My boys thinks it’s hilarious.

Pigs Love Potatoes

This was another second hand gift. The illustrations in this book are as charming as can be with sweet hues of yellow, rose and green. I would live in the little pig’s cottage if I could. This is a counting story and is as sweet and simple as it gets — mama pig makes potatoes and adds more and more to provide for her pig family and their neighbors.

Inch by Inch

A clever worm escapes his death by bird using his wits. The illustrations are entrancing and the fable is thought provoking without being preachy. My boys enjoy this very much.